Theodore racing was founded in the 1970’s by Hong Kong businessman Teddy Yip, who worked with the biggest names in the sport including F1 World Champions Ayrton Senna, Keke Rosberg, Mika Hakkinen and Alan Jones.

Theodore Racing is the first and only Chinese team to compete in Formula 1, has raced in 51 Grand Prix events and entered a total of 64 cars. Teddy Sr. entered Theodore Racing into multiple high-profile Championships including Formula 1,IndyCar, Formula Atlantic, Formula 3 and Formula 5000.

Teddy Sr. is well known as “Mr. Macau Grand Prix” as he was instrumental in bring in to the fore, one of the world’s biggest and most exciting races the Macau Grand Prix. Theodore Racing has won the Macau Grand Prix a record eight times, it’s most famous win with Ayrton Senna in 1983. The Theodore team competed in Macau for the last time in 1992 with future Formula 1 driver Rubens Barrichello.

To this day Theodore Racing has a footprint as the most famous and successful teams in Macau Grand Prix history.

Theodore Racing Today

The Yip name returned to motorsport int 2008 when Teddy Yip Jr’s involvement began with Status Grand Prix. 2009 saw Status Grand Prix win the A1GP World Cup of Motorsport, with Adam Carroll at the wheel, under the name “A1GP Team Ireland”.

After the Championship success, 2010 saw Teddy Yip Jr. enter Status Grand Prix into the Formula 1 feeder series ‘GP3’ and finished as Vice-Champions in Seasons 1 and 2. Late 2013 saw Teddy Jr. revive his father’s team ‘Theodore Racing’. The team entered into a partnership with Prema Powerteam, Europe’s leading Formula 3 team. Following a 21-year absence from competition, Theodore made a spectacular return to racing after the team won on its return to the 60th Macau Grand Prix with Alex Lynn, and achieved a record eighth victory in 2015 with current IndyCar driver Felix Rosenqvist.

Teddy Jr’s involvement in motorsport continued to expand and in 2015 Status Grand Prix grew to include GP3’s sister series ‘GP2’. GP2 and GP3, now known as FIA Formula 2 and FIA Formula 3 and compete at Formula 1 events with a global audience
of circa 300 million. Across both championships, the team regularly won races with some of the best young drivers in the world Including current Indycar driver Robert Wickens and now Formula E stars, Antonio Felix Da Costa and Alexander Sims.

2016 saw Theodore Racing expand its partnership with Prema to include the Formula 1 feeder series, GP2, European Formula 3 and German and Italian Formula 4.

Theodore Racing would return to America, embarking on its biggest motorsport programme yet in partnership with RLL Racing. Together, they tackled the world renowned Indy 500, famously known as the “largest sporting event in the world” with
entries driven by Graham Rahal and Spencer Pigot.

2017 saw three of Theodore’s drivers graduate to Formula 1 with Ferrari, Red Bull Racing and Williams. Three Team Championships were claimed plus two driver Championships with Charles Leclerc joining Sauber Formula 1 team at the end of the year.

In just three years the strong relationship between Prema and Theodore Racing saw the team bring home a number of Championships:

  • FIA Formula 3 European Team and Driver’s Championship with Lance Stroll in 2016
  • GP2 Team and Driver Championships with Pierre Gasly in 2016
  • FIA Formula 2 Driver Champions with Charles Leclerc in 2017
  • European FIA Formula 3 Team Champions in 2017
  • ADAC Formula 4 Team & Driver Champions with Juri Vips in 2017
  • Italian Formula 4 Driver Champions with Marcus Armstrong in 2017
  • European FIA Formula 3 Team & Driver Champions with Mick Schumacher in 2018
  • Italian Formula 4 Team & Driver Champions with Enzo Fittipaldi in 2018

The team is proud to claim an exceptional list of alumni. 26 drivers who competed at Macau for Theodore from 1978-1992, no fewer than 25 went on to become Formula 1 drivers. The 26th went on to win the Indianapolis 500 Four of Theodore’s drivers – Ayton Senna, Keke Rosberg, Mika Hakkinen and Alan Jones – went on to become Formula One World Champions.

In the modern era 5 Theodore drivers have gone on to Formula One and 2, a career in Formula E, and 1 is thriving in the IndyCar series.

  • Lance Stroll, SportPesa Racing Point
  • Antonio Giovinazzi, Alfa Romeo Racing
  • Pierre Gasly, Scuderia Toro Rosso
  • Charles Leclerc, Scuderia Ferrari
  • Maximilian Gunther, BMW Formula E
  • Nyck DeVries, Mercedes-Benz Formula E
  • Felix Rosenqvist, Chip Ganassi Racing

The Theodore team is committed to continue its success with the world’s most talented young drivers and is proud to be supporting Guanyu Zhou who hopes to become the World’s first Chinese Formula 1 racing driver. Currently Guanyu races for Uni-Virtuosi in the FIA Formula 2 Championship and has been given the role of development driver for Renault Formula 1 team.






Macau GP Victories

Media Login