The Theodore Legacy

Founded in the 1970’s by the late Teddy Yip Snr, Theodore Racing is the first and only Chinese team to compete in Formula 1.

Teddy Snr worked with some of the biggest names in the sport including F1 World Champions Ayrton Senna, Keke Rosberg, Mika Hakkinen and Alan Jones and entered the Theodore team in multiple high-profile Championships including Formula 1, IndyCar, Formula Atlantic, Formula 3 and Formula 5000. Following its inaugural Macau Grand Prix victory with Ayrton Senna in 1983, Theodore Racing has achieved a record eight wins in the Macau GP, one of the world’s biggest and most exciting races which Teddy Snr co-founded.

The Theodore team competed in Macau for the last time in 1992 with future F1 driver Rubens Barrichello before making a spectacular race-winning return in 2013 at the 60th Macau Grand Prix under Teddy Yip Jnr. Alex Lynn brought Theodore its seventh win before 2015 European FIA F3 Champion Felix Rosenqvist handed the team a record eighth victory.

In 2016, Theodore Racing embarked on its largest motorsport programme making a return to IndyCar as well as expanding its junior programme to include Formula 1 feeder series, FIA Formula 2, FIA European Formula 3 as well as the German and Italian Formula 4 Championships.

2017 saw three of Theodore’s drivers graduate to Formula 1 with Ferrari, Red Bull Racing and Williams. Three Team Championships were claimed plus two driver Championships with Charles Leclerc joining Sauber Formula 1 team at the end of the year.

For 2018, the team will compete in the Macau Grand Prix as well as FIA F2, FIA F3 and Formula 4.


Macau GP Victories

Media Login